My swansong!

Posted: June 8, 2023 in Events, Writing
Tags: ,

After more than 300 Author Talks, Writing Workshops and Literary events over the past 14 years, I have decided to hang up my microphone.

And what better way to go out than by officiating at a much-loved Readers Cup!

Twenty-four teams battled it out at Moreton Bay College for the Brisbane Bayside Yr 7/8 Readers Cup, and I was in the thick of it, firing off questions as Quiz Master.

Swear to the high heavens, I don’t know who was having more fun.

Probably me …

I’m still upset that Readers Cup didn’t exist in the dinosaur days of my youth when I could have read for Australia if they’d ever made it an Olympic Sport.

Instead I’ve had to settle for the vicarious pleasure of watching other voracious young readers devouring the stellar titles specially chosen for them by the Children’s Book Council of Australia.

I will miss the enthusiasm of the amazing kids, teachers and librarians, as well as the passion of booksellers like Sequel Books who champion school events.

But the time has come for me to spread my wings and fly a little further from home.

So congratulations to ALL the readers out there, young and old – you are ALL winners in my book.

A huge thank you to Speakers Ink my amazing booking agent for the past 14 years. Please visit them, marvel at their range of extraordinary literary speakers and book one for your next literary event. https://www.speakers-ink.com.au/speakers

Comments
  1. Dimity Powell says:

    Classrooms and literary events will be a little less without you Chris but I know you’ll be dancing your way into hearts far reaching in the years to come, with or without that mic. All the very best with whatever it is that fills your days in the future and beyond! I am sure it will be brilliant. Dim x

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Dim, I have a full agenda coming up. Will keep you all posted! xx

  3. Dimity Powell says:

    Whacky do! I love post. 😉 x

Leave a comment