Me and Sophie Hannah

Me and Sophie Hannah

I can die happy after a cracker of a night in Melbourne where Intruder won the 2015 Davitt Award for Best Debut Crime Book!

Do not underestimate my excitement. The last prize I won was a netball raffle ten years ago – a mountain bike designed by the military to be dropped out of helicopters into war zones.

A Davitt is infinitely more useful. And it fits on my desk!

A huge thank you to the awesome Sisters in Crime Australia for welcoming me into the fold at their 15th Annual Davitt Awards for best crime books by Australian women.

Intruder was shortlisted twice – in the Young Adult category (won by Ellie Marney’s wonderful Sherlockesque thriller Every Word), and for best Debut Crime Book which is judged across all categories (Non-fiction, Adult, YA and Children’s fiction).

With Pam Rushby and hubba hubby

With Pam Rushby and hubba hubby

Hubba hubby was there to take out the good husband award and to share in a fabulous night that celebrated Australia’s best women crime writers and which starred international best-selling author Sophie Hannah.

Huge congrats to all longlisted and short-listed authors, especially:

Liane Moriarty, Winner of the Best Adult Fiction Award for Big Little Lies and Sulari Gentill, Highly Commended for A Murder Unmentioned

Ellie Marney, Winner of Best YA Fiction for Every Word, and Pamela Rushby, Highly Commended for The Ratcatcher’s Daughter

Judith Rossell, Winner of Best Children’s Fiction for Withering-by-Sea, and Lollie Barr, Highly Commended for The Adventures of Stunt Boy and His Amazing Wonder Dog Blindfold 

Carolyn Overington, Winner, Best Non-fiction Book for Last Woman Hanged, and Julie Szego, Highly Commended for The Tainted Trial of Farah Jama.

And finally to  Candice Fox, who was Highly Commended in the Best Debut Crime Book category for Hades.20150829_223918

2015 Davitt Award for Best Debut Crime Book for Intruder

You are all winners in my book and I look forward to adding all your books to my tottering bedside reading pile!

Comments
  1. mgbauer says:

    Great news Chris. Well done!

  2. Karen says:

    Congratulations, Chris!!!! That is sensational! xxxxx

  3. Dimity Powell says:

    Outstanding Chris! There was never any doubt. This one is a definite winner. 😀

  4. FAbulous win, Chris! 🙂

  5. Dear Christine,
    I wasn’t sure how to contact you, so I hope this post will do! My Year 9 English class was assigned ‘Intruder’ as a novel study this term. We had a wonderful time reading it together and particularly enjoyed the amusing descriptions of Hercules. Students have now written analytical essays on how Kat’s various relationships changed in the novel and, consuquently, how they changed her. I thought you might enjoy seeing the students’ interpretations of your novel, as they were really able to relate to Kat and her experiences. Please let me know if you would like to see some samples and I would be more than happy to share (with students’ permission of course!)

    • chrisbongers says:

      Hi Tammy, I’m so glad you got in touch, I would love to see your students’ interpretations of Intruder! I always think that stories are only truly ‘finished’ when they are read, but I don’t always get to hear how my readers have engaged with, interpreted and reacted to my novels. So I would be fascinated to see some samples. I’ll PM you where to send them. Thanks heaps!

Leave a Reply

