Yes, there were tears

Posted: April 14, 2015 in Events, Intruder, Writing
Tags: ,

CBCA 2014 Short list Older Readers

 

Well, I did warn hubba hubby last night: ‘I’m having a cry tomorrow. Just so you know.’

He didn’t know why, of course, until I told him. About the CBCA Book of the Year – Notable Books and Short List announcement.

About how all we writers for young people wait with roiling guts for the announcement at midday. Distracting ourselves with keep-busy work, while all our hopes and fears dash up against the ever-present thought:  So many great books … such a strong year 

So yes, I did burst into tears when I saw Intruder short-listed for the 2015 CBCA Book of the Year for Older Readers.

Because until I saw it there in such fine company, I didn’t believe that it would be, that it could be …  Because there were so many great books. It was such a strong year

So, I’d just like to say thank you to the CBCA and offer my congratulations – not only to the 2015 Notable and Shortlisted authors, but to all the writers and illustrators of the 400-odd titles that the CBCA judges deliberated over this past year – here’s to the rich diversity of Aussie books for kids and teens, long may it rule! *clinks glass*

Comments
  1. mgbauer says:

    You’re no ‘intruder’ on that shortlist Chris. Huge congratulations!

  2. Dimity Powell says:

    My God Chris, just look at the magnificent company all those other authors are nudging their spines against. Hope you cried buckets. You’ve more than earned it.

  3. […] Well, I did warn hubba hubby last night: ‘I’m having a cry tomorrow. Just so you know.’ He didn’t know why, of course, until I told him. About the CBCA Book of the Year – Notable Books and Short List announcement.  […]

  4. Wonderful news. Wonderful book.

Leave a Reply

