Somerset here I come!

Posted: March 16, 2015 in Events, Writing
Tags: , ,

luggage full and ready to travelPacking. Ack. I’m hopeless at it. I throw in too much of everything, can’t cope for four days with less than three pairs of Birkis plus something sparkly to wear out at night, and then I forget essentials – like the address of where I am staying . . .

And no wonder, I mean, look at me – I’m supposed to be packing, I’m leaving at 8.30 in the am and here I am jabbering away at my keyboard, having the loveliest of times instead of googling weather on the Gold Coast for the next four days or whatever it is that organised people do when they pack . . .

Dang, I really wish I were a list person, then I could tick off the following:

Washing (check – everything is clean, so that’s a start)

Dog (check – he has food and has been walked this morning – sorry Huggy, that’s the best I can do. If they forget to feed you, just hoover the kitchen floor, that should be enough to survive on till Saturday)

Children (check – the pantry is stocked, school forms have been filled in and signed, promises to look after the youngest have been extracted from the eldest . . . but Lordy, best not to dwell on this topic, so moving on…)

Laptop (check – loaded with tomorrow’s talk to a packed auditorium at Helensvale Cultural Centre AND the latest draft of my work-in-progress – an optimistic thought, but perhaps after each thrill-packed day at Somerset Celebration of Literature all we authors will be inspired to work poolside at the Royal Pines Resort – Surfers Paradise

Wait – I’ll need togs! And a cover-up. Sandals. And clothes – day-wear, and for going out at night and to bed. Oh dear, you better excuse me, I need to get cracking with that packing . . .

Do you think three pairs of Birkis are enough?

Comments
  1. Have a blast, Christine! Somerset is always wonderful. great people, great kids, great time. Karen xxx

  2. Dimity Powell says:

    LOL, ah we don’t care what you Brisvegas types lob up in Chris. Looking forward to see you way down south here. Weather forecast you say…well at least we are still in the same time zone as Ashgrove…almost. See you at Somerset. 😀

  3. chrisbongers says:

    I actually did google the weather, Dimity – and the GC is going to be six degrees cooler than Brisbane, thank the high heavens! See you at Somerset!

Leave a Reply

