Want to swap books with me?

Posted: August 8, 2014 in Events
Tags: , , , , ,

Indigenous Literacy Foundation

I rarely give away my favourite books. They’re like friends that I like to keep close, on hand for when I need the  fun and comfort they offer.

Even lending them out is fraught. I press them onto friends in the afterglow of reading, blissfully unaware of what went where, and to whom, and only months later wonder what happened to those that didn’t make it back home.

So when Riverbend Books asked if I’d like to celebrate National Bookshop Day by donating a favourite or much-loved book to the Great Book Swap to aid Indigenous Literacy I immediately said yes,  because it’s such a great cause. But later, I felt a secret pang about donating a favourite or much-loved book. 

Sigh. So much easier to give away the ones that we don’t care for.

But luckily this story has a happy ending.Great Book Swap

A quick search of my bookshelves unearthed two copies of one of my favourite books: Karen Foxlee’s gorgeous modern fairy tale, Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy.

(I can bring myself to part with the paperback because the American hardcover edition with its gloriously illustrated end pages will never leave my shelves.)

So, hope to see you on Saturday 9 August at Riverbend Books where I’ll be swapping one of my much-loved books.

Which favourite book are you prepared to part with for a good cause?

Comments
  1. Dimity Powell says:

    My own! It’s how I feel good about not seeing so many of them lying around the house 😛 But seriously Chris, I agree; giving away books, once read and loved is like parting with a ones child. To over come this reluctance, I often donate my double ups to school libraries, bookshops and charities. I haven’t tried this with my child yet. Hope you have a fabulous day tomorrow. Dim

  2. chrisbongers says:

    That’s a great suggestion, Dimity (ie swapping our own books, not our children.) 😉
    Happy National Bookshop Day to you too.

Leave a Reply

