First glimpse of my new baby

Posted: February 12, 2014 in Intruder, Writing, YA Fiction
Tags: , ,

RHA_Intruder_Front cover 21-03-14Ooh, look what’s turned up in my inbox – the front cover of Intruder, coming out on 1st June!

I love it, I love it, I really do (and so do random teens in my life – including the fourteen-year-old boys, interestingly enough).

Here’s a sneak preview:

I don’t walk past the house next door. I don’t speak to the evil witch who lives in it.
I wish she was dead. Even deader than my mum.
Which makes it hard… because she was the one who came running when I screamed.

Kat Jones is woken at midnight by an intruder looming over her bed. She’s saved by her hated neighbour Edwina – the woman Kat believes betrayed her dying mother.

Kat’s shift-worker dad, Jimmy, issues an ultimatum. Either spend nights at Edwina’s, or accept another intruder in her life – Hercules, the world’s ugliest guard dog. It’s a no-brainer, even for dog-phobic Kat.

When she meets adorkable Al at the dog park, Kat lets down her guard and family secrets tumble out. The prowler turns up the heat, and Kat is forced into an unlikely alliance with her nemesis – finally learning the explosive truth about their shared past.

So, what do you think?

Cover design by Astred Hicks, www.designcherry.com
Cover photograph by Julia Trotti, www.juliatrotti.com

Comments
  1. What do I think?? It’s a no-brainer (even for dog-lover Kath) – I love it! All of it. Everything from the cover to the blurb to the character to the intrigue. It has all the Bonger’s voice and flare we’ve come to expect. Keep up the editing Chris, because we’ll be lining up come June…

  2. Trish says:

    Gasp!! It’s a beauty alright. I am going to test with some of my boys tomorrow miss!! So glad for you (& proud of you).

  3. Oh, Chris. I love it, and am a little bit scared of it too…

    I can’t wait to get my hands on Intruder. One of the things you do so well is write stories where the characters – each and every one, ‘baddies’ included – tug on my heartstrings. I can tell… I can already tell.

    I’m reinforcing Ye Olde Heartstrings in preparation for the June assault.

  4. Dimity Powell says:

    You must be very very proud. A new baby worth crowing about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

