The Author at fifteen…

Posted: August 18, 2013 in Events, Writing
Tags: , ,

poolKids often ask me if I have any of the stories that I wrote at school, and the answer has always been no – until now.

Now, thanks to the 50th anniversary of my old alma mater Biloela State High, and the archaeological skills of my sister-in-law Bridget, an early Pleistocene era original Chris Bongers short story has been unearthed! the author at 15

The excitement generated by this fantastic find (in a 1976 edition of our school magazine Narina) has been felt from Jambin to Brisbane (though I’m hoping to spread the thrill beyond just Bridget and me, by ringing my Mum later tonight).

I may even share it with the Year 9 short story writers I’m talking to at All Hallows School this week.  The bar has been set low, girls. Feel free to vault it!

Leave a Reply

