Here’s looking at you, Mum

Posted: October 19, 2012 in Family, Musings
Tags:
Back in 1966, at the age of 36, my mum had given birth to six children in the previous six years – including two sets of twins.

She’s pictured here (at Kemp Beach, Yeppoon, with the younger twins), looking effortlessly elegant in her brother Neil’s hat.

Forty-six years later, she’d probably still fit into that dress… legacy of a lifetime of taking only one potato – and then promptly offering it to the nearest child in need (I suspect I was that child a bit too often for my own good).

I often wish I could be more like my mum – but it’s probably too late now to say no to potatoes – so tonight I’ll simply settle for being with her.

I’m hopping on a plane and flying up to Bilo to help celebrate her birthday. She didn’t think turning 82 was worth making a fuss about, but I beg to differ.

Every birthday is a cause for celebration. And we’ll remind her of that every year from now on:

You only live once, Mum…but if you do it right, once is enough. 🙂

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Happy birthday to your mum, Chris! I hope you have a wonderful time together.

  2. Ian says:

    82 is a fine batting average; I hope your mum keeps swinging that bat.

  3. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Karen and Ian, we had a great weekend (including scones, clydesdales and a breathalyser!)

  4. Ian says:

    Did they test you or the horse?

    • chrisbongers says:

      Haha, me. You should have seen Mum – she doesn’t drink and was convinced that I’d be spending the night in the watchhouse after a quick bubble at my brother’s! I told her a zero-point-zero-zero reading is pretty safe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

