Lately I’ve been feeling like a one-armed woman in a phone booth with a swarm of bees. Too many things coming at me at once.

Talks, deadlines, workshops, Mum in hospital, hubba hubby overseas (on a Brokeback Mountain-biking week, no less  – better bring back some fish!), a crescendo of kids’ sporting commitments, an unfinished novel burning a hole in my desktop, a ker-ching of tilers, builders and electricians battering all the bent bits of my life into shape.

The only tradesman I haven’t been blessed with lately is the plumber, which must be why the fridge and bathroom tap have just started leaking….

At 8pm last night, I had a melt-down. Then I got to work. By 11pm, I’d made a big dent in my in-tray AND sent off my edits for my illustrated chapter book Dronges to Scholastic. (Very happy that Dan McGuiness, author of Pilot & Huxley, is doing the illustrations. Check out his cool website here.)

At 5.30 this morning, I hauled my grumpy bum out of bed to flip 300 pancakes for my daughter’s waterpolo breakfast at school. She rocked up, all smiles, at 8am with her gaggle of gfs. ‘Having fun, Mum? she asked.’

And you know what? I realised that I was.

The sun was shining, my co-workers were fun, and our pancakes were the bomb. I squirted maple syrup on a huge hotcake, stuffed it in my mouth and made a mental note to myself:

When there’s a lot on your plate, don’t forget to savour the good bits. 

Since I got home, I’ve been ticking off the jobs like a machine.

Next on my list is my Six-Pick for next week’s CBCA Qld Short List Night.  I’m a Clayton’s judge again this year for books for Older Readers and let me tell you, nominating a Top Two Dozen is fun, but narrowing down all those fabulous books to a Top Half Dozen is downright harrowing. Definitely not a job for sissies….  Click here if you’d like to come along and get the inside running on top kids’ books for 2012.

But right now, you will have to excuse me.

I have a talk to prepare, a workshop program to finalise for my Year of the YA Novel Course (starting 29 April at the Queensland Writers Centre), a novel to finish…And after all that, I think I’ll be ready for another pancake. 😉

Leave a Reply

