Still counting

Posted: September 26, 2011 in Family, Musings, Writing
Tags: , , ,

There have been a few changes over the past seventeen years.

Someone (not him) has gained a few kilos. Someone (not me) has lost a bit of hair.

He still goes on his surf trips. Because old surfers never die, they just stand up and paddle.

I still don’t understand why people wonder at me letting him go. Why it should be up to me to “let” him do what he loves.

He still tucks me in when he sneaks out at sparrow fart. So quiet he doesn’t even wake the beagle.

He still holds my hand when we walk on the beach.

He still tells me I’m beautiful when I have morning breath and chook’s nest hair.

I’m still grateful we found each other, ten years after we first met…

Seventeen years married, and still counting.

Comments
  1. Congratulations Christine (beautiful bride!) Count them all and make them all count I say. Thanks for sharing your memories. Dimity

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Dimity. You know I still fit that dress. Like a sausage fits its skin….

Leave a Reply

