Tucking into the blogosphere

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Musings, Writing
Tags: , , ,

The first time I googled myself (oh, go on, we all do it, just admit it and move on), I discovered Chris Bongers, the drummer (and seriously, how good is that name for a drummer?)

I also discovered a nineteen year old wannabe model from California, but unfortunately she wasn’t me either.

Even more unfortunately, the real me rated only two entries: a seminar paper on dispute resolution dating back to the nineties, and a current tuckshop roster for my kids’ primary school.

Hoo boy.

I had my first novel Dust coming out in a matter of months, and I was a non-event, nonpareil, in the blogosphere. Fortunately, the all-knowing, all-wise Queensland Writers Centre came to my rescue with a handy little workshop on developing an online presence.

Two-and-a-half years later, I have cluttered the blogosphere so efficiently that I can’t even find that damn tuckshop roster.

So, sorry about that no-show last term, ladies. Just letting you know that I’m good for the 16th. But wait, isn’t that the day of the sports carnival? Guess tuckshop’s been cancelled, huh? Might schedule some special time with my poor neglected blog instead (heh heh). 😉

Comments
  1. mgbauer says:

    Google yourself? Hey how do you do that CB? I wouldn’t mind trying it.

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Liar, liar, pants on fire. You’re everywhere, man, you even have your own wikipedia page, you’re like, famous! (I just googled you, that’s how I know). xx

  3. Little Hat says:

    googling yourself is either very affirming or very depressing. For moi very affirming – though not through any effort or intention. Just happened to get involved with some early community history initiatives through my work at BCC and bingo. and then every other thing I’d ever done seemed to gradually appear on line.

    It a great party trick to google people and report on their status – how many references and who they could be if they were only blonde or infamous or collected esoteric items or was published. shame when it gets competitive though. Who me?

  4. chrisbongers says:

    Steve, I google people all the time, but only people I don’t know personally. I’ve never googled friends (other than writers who, as we all know, love it, so that’s OK to admit to in public). I know waaaaay too much about most of my friends already!

  5. LOL but seriously you’d think after the countless hours I’ve put in to the damn P & C I’d rate a mention somewhere in google space. But wait there is another Dimity Powell on the Gold Coast…the photos look a little dodgy and not really like me though.Better not show the hubby this one. An entertaining little post Christine 🙂

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Dimity, I didn’t show my hubby the photos of the 19 yo model either, just in case I suffered by comparison!

  7. Lynne Lumsden Green says:

    Tsk! As if you would suffer in comparison to anyone…

  8. Heh, my name is quite a common one, but I’m the first 4 entries on a google search. This is possibly because I talk too much.

    Apparently, I also cook dinner for a pound a night on the dole and there’s a Valentine’s party at my place 😉

  9. chrisbongers says:

    Jayne, what are you doing all a-twitter when you should be working on that verse novel, hmmm?

Leave a Reply

