I’ll be back

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Events, Writing

You can take the kid out of the country… but you can bet your RayBan Predator Wrap black sunglasses that she’ll be back.

I’ve pulled out the big guns, for next week’s visit to my old stomping grounds in Central Queensland.

Look for me on August 17, back in Biloela, where I’ll be launching Henry Hoey Hobson to a hometown crowd at my old alma mater, Biloela State High.

My junior debating coach, Mrs Meisner, will be there, telling tales out of school about what a ratbag model student I was, back in the day.

The launch is at midday, in the high school’s big new building on Gladstone Road. Everyone is welcome – Seriously, I’d love to see you there.

(Mum’s coming, but Auntie Pam and Uncle Eddy are in Brisbane, Uncle Bevan and Auntie Gwen are away, and my sister-in-law Janelle laid up after her knee op, so I’ll be looking for friends.)

If you really can’t make it to Bilo on the 17th, you’ll get a second shot at me in Rockhampton on the 18th August.

I’ll be at Rocky Grammar School in the morning, and signing books at Angus and Robertson, City Centre Plaza, Rockhampton, at 3.30pm Wednesday 18 August.

Until then, hasta la vista, baby. 😉

Comments
  1. Elaine Ouston says:

    Hi Chris
    I’ll pop over to A&R to say hello on Wednesday and bring my already purchased book for a signature. I look forward to meeting you then.

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Elaine, it’ll be a pleasure finally meeting you too in RL. Bring your creative writing friends and we’ll have a party in city plaza. 🙂

  3. Lynne the Lurker says:

    And the Sunshine Coast signing is when?

  4. chrisbongers says:

    Actually, I’m hoping for the end of the month, Lynne. Will definitely keep you posted on that. 🙂

  5. jason nahrung says:

    Gadfly! Enjoy the bridge climb, too!
    Jason

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Hey JN, tell Kirstyn I picked up a copy of Madigan Mine at Darren Groth’s Kindling launch at Avid tonight. I am one spoilt book lover!

  7. Congrats Chris,
    On your two upcoming Book Launches. or should I say three. You certainly get around …Karen :))

  8. chrisbongers says:

    HHH has had his Briz launch, and is looking forward to Bilo and Rocky, then meeting the good folk at Downlands College in Toowoomba, before heading back to Brisbane for the Writers Festival. He certainly is getting around!

Leave a Reply

