I’ve done some tough gigs in my time.

I’ve turned up to give a talk and found that the only other woman in the room was a topless waitress…

I’ve talked to Year Nine boys in thirty-five degree heat, last period on a Friday, after Phys Ed…

I’ve sat alone at an author signing table while every every child in the known universe lined up for Morris Gleitzman at the table next to me.

So, when I land a gig like the Gold Coast Literati, I feel honour-bound to publicly thank the high heavens (Gold Coast Libraries and organiser Maryanne Hyde, in particular) for such a wonderful event.

Literati was the bomb. Great food, convivial company, motivated and enthusiastic writers, illustrators, and audiences.

Highlights for me included:

Rosie Fitzgibbon, me and Katherine Howell at Gold Coast Literati

catching up with John Danalis, Katherine Howell, Karen Brooks and Belinda Jeffrey

meeting Rosie Fitzgibbon (who edited both Dust and Henry Hoey Hobson), and sitting in on her sister, Marion Halligan’s session with Sonia Orchard

meeting the gorgeous Alice Pung (who I would love to see in action; unfortunately her session with John Danalis coincided with mine and Belinda’s)…

sitting next to Garry Disher and Michael Robotham while the wickedly funny Shane Maloney discussed making his Murray Whelan books into movies: ‘I thought I’d just toss books over my shoulder and they’d run along behind me picking them up.’

Literati – what a pleasure, from start to finish. Thank you organisers, authors and audiences – Bravo! 🙂

Comments
  1. Lynne the Lurker says:

    Oh, how I envy you at this moment. 🙂

  2. I’m jealous too. What is this thing called a Real Life? Looks like a great time. You deserve. xxx

    • chrisbongers says:

      Lynn, I’m struggling a bit with RL this morning – overflowing in-tray, book launch not organised, first draft of w-i-p rattling its chain, washing pile from laundry crawling up the stairs… tempting to run back to the coast!

  3. Joanna Gaudry says:

    Glad to hear that the Gold Coast Literati was a blast, Chris. Joanna :))

  4. Gus Gordon says:

    Sounds like lots of fun Chris. BTW, I’ve also done the Morris Gleitzman line thing at the Norman Lindsay festival. Just his line and my line, side by side. I signed VERY slowly.

  5. chrisbongers says:

    Gus, be thankful – you had a line! I had a vacuum, a void, an absence of bodies, a clear view of the length, enthusiasm, and sheer visibility of Morris’ line. After balancing my pen on the end of my nose for two minutes, I escaped by falling backwards off my chair and knocking myself out. Actually, that last bit might not be true… but you get the picture…

  6. angela sunde says:

    Thank you so much, Chris. We loved having you here on the Gold Coast. Belinda and your talk was a highlight. Very helpful.

    I laughed so loud when I read your year nine boys comment. I’ve been there as a teacher, only it was timetabled every Friday. In the end we did ‘activities’ which was learning disguised as fun.

  7. chrisbongers says:

    It was fun, wasn’t it, Angela? Glad to hear you found creative solutions to the Year-Nine-boy problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

