Making the list

Posted: March 30, 2010 in Dust, Events, YA Fiction
Tags: , , , ,

It was a heart-stopping moment, reading my name in the Children’s Book Council of Australia’s list of Notable Books for 2010.

I checked three times and it was still there.  Alongside many new and old writing friends including Michael Gerard Bauer, John Danalis, Gus Gordon, Kate Constable, Sam Bowring and Penny Tangey.

But wonderful books like Belinda Jeffrey’s Brown Skin Blue and Kirsty Eagar’s Raw Blue were missing.

I’m new to this game.  Dust is the first manuscript I ever wrote, the first book I ever had published.

I feel privileged to be on the Notable list, and am proud that something I created is making its own way in the world and finding new friends.

I’d like to congratulate all the Notables for 2010, and especially those short-listed for the Book of the Year Awards.

I don’t envy the CBCA judges the daunting task of whittling down hundreds of books to a Notables list and then to a ShortList.  I don’t envy them at all. But I do wish that this year, the lists had been a little longer.


Comments
  1. Sally says:

    Congrats Christine. Was delighted to see Dust on the list. Well deserved.
    I find every year there’s a favourite or two of mine missing from the list – but that just shows what a wonderful depth of talent we have in Australia!

  2. chrisbongers says:

    That’s a great way to look at it, Sally. And congratulations to you too – it is just wonderful to see Pearl Verses The World on the list for younger readers. 🙂

  3. WOW. Well done Christine. You are way too humble.
    Does Avid Reader stock ‘Dust’? I’ll check it out.

  4. John Danalis says:

    Really chuffed for you Chris, such an achievement getting your first book listed! I will soon be adding Dust to my bedside pile.

    I agree, I wish the notables list was just a little longer. Can’t believe the judges commented on the lack of serious fiction and then overlooked Brown Skin Blue. Belinda is an amazing writer and her time in the sun is just around the corner.

    Really happy to see Lee Hobbs get up in the shortlistings – so often overlooked for more ‘serious’ picture books – he and his characters are national treasures.

    • chrisbongers says:

      John, it was such a pleasure to see you and Leigh and Gus and so many of the Somerset crew in the list. Your “Schumann the Shoeman” looks just gorgeous. I have a special little girl in mind for that one. 🙂

  5. Hi Chris,
    Congratulations for your inclusion to the Notable list. I’ve read Dust and I can recommend it to adult and teenager alike, Cheers, Karen :))

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Karen, for a teen lit novel, Dust has found a lot of fans amongst readers who remember the 70s. 🙂

  7. Lynne Green says:

    Dear Chris,

    Your nomination is well deserved. Don’t feel – as a first time author – that you are too ‘new’ for consideration.

    (((hugs))) and congratulations, my wonderful friend!

    Lynne

  8. Josie says:

    A big fat congratulations – I’m absolutely thrilled on your behalf Chris. Such a journey from having to leave the manuscript for a year to re-editing and working it into an MA submission (completed first time thank you very much) to a literary nomination. Huge – tis huge. Josie x.

  9. Angela Slatter says:

    Congrats, m’dear! 🙂

  10. Absolutely thrilled for you, Chris. So well deserved – Dust really is a stunning debut. Hope you enjoyed your celebrations, as it’s clear that your career will have many…

  11. Congratulations, Chris. That is absolutely wonderful. I am so pleased to hear your news, and very proud of you too. You deserve it! Yay for you. xxx Chris

  12. Fantastic, Chris. Congratulations. I loved ‘Dust’. Joanna :))

  13. Gus Gordon says:

    Big congrats Chris! Very happy to be on a list with you!

  14. Trudie Trewin says:

    Well deserved, Chris. It’s a great book!

  15. Tony says:

    Hey Chris – Just got back from Hong Kong and so missed all the awards excitement – huge congratulations from me, too! And very well deserved.

    Cheers
    t

  16. Noela Fry says:

    Fantastic Chris! What a coup for a first book! Will watch the release of your next book with interest!

  17. Darren Groth says:

    Massive achievement, Chris! Really looking forward to bringing ‘Dust’ back to Canada with me in August.
    Cheers
    Darren

  18. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Darren, Kindling is on my must-buy list. Can’t wait till it is out in Australia!

  19. leemcgowan says:

    Congratulations Chris!!
    Well earned, I say.

Leave a Reply

