Chris Bongers and Melina MarchettaQuick gush here…

Last night I was at Melina Marchetta’s Brisbane launch of her latest novel The Piper’s Son.

Melina is such a rock star; her launch at Riverbend Books would have needed bouncers but for the good behaviour of the crowd. Hearing her in conversation with CBCA National President, Marj Kirkland, was an absolute treat.

My autographed copy has been burning a hole in my pocket, but I’m not allowed to open it until I’ve finished Chapter Two of my new YA w-i-p, Intruder.

I can’t even look at The Piper’s Son or I’ll crack and spend the rest of the day on the couch with my legs in the air.  I’ve had the biggest literary crush on Melina since Looking for Alibrandi and have adored all her books, so my pitiful supply of willpower is being tested here folks; I’m hurting, believe me.

chris Bongers at Riverbend BooksBTW, I ♥ Riverbend Books. I had my own book launch there and have often admired their awesome book-covered verandah blinds. But it wasn’t until last night  that someone drew my attention to the little orange spine sandwiched in between Bram Stoker and Nick Earls…

Thank you to the lovely Lynn Priestley for not only pointing it out, but for capturing these Kodak moments on her trusty iPhone. Somerset Writers' Festival

In other news, I’m counting down the sleeps till Somerset Writers’ Festival at the Gold Coast from 17-19 March.

Melina will be there, along with an awesome lineup of literary talent including Markus Zusak, Patrick Ness, James Roy, Belinda Jeffrey, Derek Landy and Anthony Eaton.

If you click here you can book tickets to hundreds of sessions and dozens of authors, including little old me.  (I’ll be the one reading The Piper’s Son in an empty tent while fifteen thousand people stampede the rock stars of the YA literary world. If this pathetic image moves you, please come up and say hello. I’ll welcome you with open arms, I promise.)

Comments
  1. Always had an eye for talent and great beauty, Chris. To me, it stuck out like- well, you know…!
    It was great to catch up last night. All hail the iPhone! Melina was awesome!

    XX

  2. You’re a star too when your name (or book’s name) is written up in blinds! *Snap I have a copy of The Piper’s Son on my desk that I am not allowed to read until I’ve written the required words – my copy isn’t signed – but I do have a much-treasured signed copy of Finnikin of the Rock.

  3. chrisbongers says:

    She was, wasn’t she, Lynn? So unpretentious, despite the great gobs of talent. Great to catch up. I feel a doggy date coming on after Easter. xx

  4. Oh! I wish I could have been there but I will see Melina at Somerset.

    I can’t wait for Somerset Festival. I’m hoping to book into your Thursday afternoon session & I’ll have to get you to sign Dust for me 🙂

  5. chrisbongers says:

    Awesome, Kathleen! I’ll give you the deluxe signature with squiggles and swirls! 🙂

  6. Karen Brooks says:

    Chris! You are officially one of the rock stars of the literary world. I agree with you re everyone there – they are completely fabulous. But you also shine among that glittering firmament.

  7. chrisbongers says:

    Aw, Karen, you are gorgeous. Stretching it, but gorgeous. 🙂

  8. leemcgowan says:

    You more than deserve your place on the roll call. Rubbing shoulders with your literary peers’ll do you good Bongers. Soak it up. But a rock star? At your age? (did yer heckles go up? hahahahahaha)

  9. chrisbongers says:

    I’m having a vision – the f-word looming in your future, so close you can reach out and touch it. You’ll be in your forties soon enough, boyo, then we’ll see who’s still laughing! 😛

Leave a Reply

