Just so you know…

Posted: February 22, 2010 in Musings, Writing
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve had the grumps all week.

Tomorrow’s my birthday.

These statements may, or may not, be connected. But when one is off the grog for FebFast and one’s nose is scabrous (albeit now sunspot-free thanks to an acid-wielding dermatologist), clinging to one’s forties doesn’t seem like such a great thing to celebrate.

I despise whiners, especially when it’s me, so as soon as my husband and kids were out the door this morning, I decided to make some changes.

I washed and blow-dried my hair, put on a dead-sexy black and white halter-neck dress (it’s a bit tight around the derriere, but hey, some men like that sort of thing) and did something I haven’t done in months.

I sat down and started writing a new YA novel.  Are you gob-smacked? I am. I never write in halter-necks.

I am now three cups of coffee into it and loving myself sick. Like that last doilie-sized  bit that flaked off my nose, I think this one’s a keeper. 😉

Comments
  1. Oh My God – you crack me up. Never a lovelier vision…and good on you for making you feel good. What a fabulous birthday present to yourself. I hope the new novel and you see many happy birthday’s together. (At the risk of scaring the community senseless, dang it all – I might have to buy a halter-neck dress.)

    And no – I don’t think your bum looks big in that

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Thank you Lynn, you understand me precisely. 🙂

  3. I laughed at the image of you all dolled up at your writing desk – brilliant! And I love a new story. It’s certainly something to be relished. Can’t wait to hear more about it as it develops. Enjoy!

  4. chrisbongers says:

    Kath, it is simply impossible to be morose in a halter-neck. BTW, love the Squish painting in your new digs – just gorgeous. xx

  5. I’m definitely going to try the dressing up for work tomorrow. And I hope you have a great birthday (despite the lack of wine)!

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks, Rebecca. Go the bling sandals, they’re very inspiring (and the meter-man will be so impressed!)

  7. Haha. I’m writing in a dress today too but it’s a maxi not a halterneck…damn, you’ve outdone me again!

    Anyways, Happy Birthday for tomorrow 🙂

  8. chrisbongers says:

    Show some kneez pleez Kathleen, it’s too hot for a maxi! xx

  9. Looking fab and beautiful, Chris. Always good to be dolled up to the nines when writing. Lol. Happy birthday for tomorrow. Not long until February is over.
    Joanna :))

  10. chrisbongers says:

    Counting down the days, Joanna. 🙂

  11. Hi Chris,
    Congrats on the new story, fabulous news. I’ll have to buy myself one of those halter-necks for future projects … And Happy Birthday for tomorrow.
    Cheers, Karen :))

  12. I tried writing in a dress after my recent birthday. It didn;t seem to help. The balloons kept getting in the way and activating the space bar without my permission. Besides that my wife said that it made my bum look even smaller than it really is and asked for it back (envy).
    Happy birthday Christine.

  13. chrisbongers says:

    Steve, I’ve been wondering where all the men in my life are! You’ve made my day – grumps are now officially dispelled. Thank you. 🙂

  14. leemcgowan says:

    What’s this I hear about you introducing Melina Marchetta at her Brisbane novel launch at Riverbend next week?

    Will you be wearing the halterneck for that?

  15. chrisbongers says:

    Oooh, I am, I am! Unless of course, Riverbend finds someone more worthy and with a better halter-neck….Stay tuned – I feel a gushing post coming on!

  16. You’ve made me have a little laugh just when I’m not feeling the best, so thank you, Chris! Loving the image of the tight bummed halterdress – hope you wore it out somewhere too. 🙂

  17. chrisbongers says:

    As long as I didn’t bring on a fit of coughing, Sheryl. Hope you’re feeling better soon. xx

  18. Trudie Trewin says:

    lol, what a great idea, Chris. Now we’ll all be dressing to the nines on our birthdays! Have a good one.

  19. Karen Burke says:

    Oh man, didn’t know twas your berfdy!! Great idea to dress up for yourself, hope you had a wonderful day.
    Now since it’s 2nd MARCH, think we should have a wine-fest my friend!!

  20. chrisbongers says:

    I’m in! Though I’m wondering if I should be dressing up today too – hubby’s back from his brokeback mountain-biking weekend with the boys!

Leave a Reply

