My writing nook – QWC blog tour

Posted: February 7, 2010 in Writing
Tags: , , ,

See this? Proof positive that I’m turning into my mother. Popping on lippy before heading out to the shops. Cleaning up before the visitors arrive.

My writing work space
Half an hour ago, my writing desk was buried under its usual sedimentary layers of bills, paperwork, notebooks, half-drunk cups laced with coffee scuzz, dog poo bags (unused), hair ties, change (glad I found that), and three different types of hand cream.

I now smell damn good thanks to the marshmallow body butter and have transferred all the mess to the dining room table, which is now truly terrifying (apart from that tidy corner in the centre bottom of the photo).

Real visitors to our house will marvel at my unprecedentedly tidy desk which sits in the front corner of the lounge/dining room. They may wonder why I have transferred its surface detritus to the dining room table (or maybe not, given that real visitors are used to my haphazard house keeping habits).

However if you are a virtual visitor swinging past as part of The Qld Writers Centre’s Blog Tour of writer’s work spaces, please note that I have indeed made my mother proud. I have tidied up AND popped on lippy (not to mention hand cream) just for you.

Welcome to my writer’s work space. (So glad you made it here before I slipped back into something more comfortable.)Β  πŸ˜‰

Comments
  1. Chris, whatever the before shot was like, the after looks gorgeous. Very writerly indeed. But if the stunning ‘Dust’ came from amongst the chaos of your usual work desk, then that’s what I’m more interested in πŸ™‚

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Dust grew out of chaos and filth at this very desk in Brisbane, but interestingly, the last half of Henry Hoey Hobson was written on a laptop at a clean dining room table overlooking Buddina beach. The only accoutrements the two manuscripts had in common were the ubiquitous coffee cup and chewing gum. Like children Kath, every book is different. πŸ™‚

  3. Joanna Gaudry says:

    It looks lovely, Chris. A nice ambience in your writing space. Love wood. I have a wooden desk also. Like the painting. Joanna :))

  4. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Joanna. The painting is a print of Odilon Redon’s ‘Wildflowers in a Long-Necked Vase’ that I bought at the Musee D’Orsay. I love the impressionists and it is a beautiful picture to work beneath. Though the original comes without the reflection of my front window in the middle of it. πŸ™‚

  5. What a beautiful desk. I acquired a similar styled desk that I renovated. Following the sanding back and before the staining phase, I wrote a border of favourite authors around all the edges and then stained them into the wood. Looks like a lovely place to create, Chris. Obviously working well, too!

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Lynn, your desk sounds gorgeous – I can’t wait to see it on the QWC blog tour!

  7. Haha! That’s cheating Chris πŸ™‚

  8. chrisbongers says:

    I know, I know, but I NEVER clean up unless people are coming over!

  9. Hmmm- I thought the blog tour was by invitation only…is it not? If not – I’m happy to slather my messy desk across the web waves…

  10. chrisbongers says:

    Lynn, I don’t think the QWC would mind if you crash their party – and I would really like to see that desk….

  11. leemcgowan says:

    Far too tidy Chris, regardless of whit ye say in the stuff below people are gonnae think yer organised and neat.

  12. chrisbongers says:

    Actually Lee, I am organised …sort of. Not in an obsessive, colour-coded-wardrobe, labels-facing-out-pantry kind of way. I’m more a stuff-all-your-crap-in-a-cupboard-until-it-explodes type of person. But I am very deadline-oriented and like to organise my life around the big things and let the little things fit in around them.

  13. Nigel Turvey says:

    Christine! Just had a slow Saturday cuppa and read your ‘bit’ in WQ – this is nothing to do with tidying stuff, or mabe it has. I write non-fiction – its stranger than fiction… – and spent the last ten days on 1,000 words. The last five days have been on the voice. Voice for non-fiction – ha ha, or lol! But true. Just between you and me, I have put off business deadlines this week to re-re-re-re-craft sentences. One brave day I took out all the definite articles. It was an unstrung puppet – so I put some back again. And starting with conjunctions (she gasped, hand over mouth). Your ‘bit’ diagnoses my mania. My business partners still won’t understand if they read it, but thanks anyway. My 1,000 words will sing -eventually. Now is that F# or G that I hear?

  14. chrisbongers says:

    Nigel, I’m a polisher too, so I do understand. Kate Grenville said she did 37 or 38 complete drafts of ‘The Idea of Perfection’ before she was satisfied – and it won the Orange Prize! So you’re not the only one who likes to get it pitch perfect. Cheers, Chris.

  15. Hi Chris,
    Love your workspace right down to the family photos, the certificates on the wall and the clown painting.
    Didn’t mind you tidied up for us. Aren’t we all turning into our Mothers?
    Cheers,
    Karen :))

  16. chrisbongers says:

    I have a clown painting??? Amazing what a good clean-up will unearth. πŸ™‚

  17. Chris,
    Using my active imagination it sure looked like a Clown Painting! I enlarged your pic …I can now see its a Vase of Flowers. LOL

Leave a Reply

