I’m at a loose end. Pull it and I’ll start to unravel.

The revisions are done, the publishing Gods temporarily appeased after taking my second-born.

Henry Hoey Hobson has left home, whisked away on secret publisher’s business to an unknown location, a brutal boot camp where a merciless editor will whip his scrawny arse into shape.

He’ll come back eventually, bulging in a tough bag, splattered with copy editor squiggles. Sporting black marks on his once-spotless pages. Missing adverbs I didn’t even know that he had…

I’ll miss him, I do already; my head’s been in HHH-time for months. But it’s time to reset the clock for crime.

The post-deadline clean-up has cleared the decks to make way for the next one, my adult murder book, The Lonely Dead.

Under the detritus on my desk, I have finally located my dog-eared copy of the Crime Scene Investigation manual (along with an unbanked cheque, two overdue birthday cards,  bills that I’ve paid, and filing I have binned).

Voices that have been simmering on the back burner for months are now rattling their lids.

It is time to make the shift. To find a new register. To drop it down a gear and begin the uphill climb. A new story mountain needs to be conquered.

Comments
  1. I can understand this feeling. I’ve just finished the first round of rewrites and edits on one story and I know I have more to go but I’ve got a lull while I wait and I want to start something new but my head is still thinking about the first story. Thanks for sharing this.

  2. chrisbongers says:

    I’m lucky that I’m already 50,000 words into my back-burner novel, Cassandra. Reading it through is getting me back into the right head-space. I’ve even been dreaming about it again, which is always a good sign. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

  3. Tony says:

    I’m with you all the way on this one, Chris. I’ve just put to bed the final Darklands book – ten years in the making – and am hanging out for my next lot of writing time, ready to introduce myself to a whole new bunch of characters. It’s one of the best/worst periods of the writing life, IMHO.

  4. Lynne Green says:

    Dear Chris,

    I have my last exam in four days – and then I am letting my novel out to play. It has been beating at the door for months. I know that ‘climbing a mountain’ feeling.

    I also have about forty short stories I have ideas for. And three months with no uni…

    I have to stop thinking about writing now. Must study!

    Coffee over the Christmas break?

    Lynne Green

  5. chrisbongers says:

    Lynne, give yourself a bit of a break after exams! I’m hoping to snatch some time at the coast between jaunts to Bilo and Japan, so I’ll let you know when I’m up there.

  6. Good on you, Chris. I can’t wait to get Henry in my hands. Really looking forward to it. Love the new look blog, too. Very nice! Hugs to Huggie and you, too XOX

  7. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Lynn, the Hugster is in the doghouse again – yet another togs infringement. Just when I thought he was going to make it through an entire day without the naughty corner. Sigh.

  8. Ah but he’s so character building, which is a blessing in a writer’s life…right?

  9. chrisbongers says:

    Right. Anything that doesn’t kill us makes us stronger…. Besides I love the damn dawg. And he only chewed the arms of my glasses, not the lenses, so I can still see out of them, and Jake has two pairs of togs and no-one really uses the upstairs couch that he disemboweled and – OK, I’ll stop now. You’re right. Character building. I’ll hold onto that thought.

  10. leemcgowan says:

    Chris
    awesome news about the book!
    Well done. Looking forward to seeing more of it.

    I love the Darklands trilogy too. Second book in particular.

    And the blog has a papperminty freshness about it eh?

    Good luck with the Crime Investigation, if yer needing a reader let me know. I might be cheeky and ask the same of you.

  11. chrisbongers says:

    Hey Lee, you can ask anything of me, you know that. But I only want to see it after you’ve already busted a foofer valve over the rewrite! xx

  12. You’ve said it in a nut-shell, Chris. Very intrigued with the thought of you pouring over that Crime Scene Investigation manual too. Have a lovely time in Japan, sayonara. 🙂

Leave a Reply

