Mayday mayday…

Posted: July 13, 2009 in Media, YA Fiction
Tags: , , ,

I had a moment at about 12.35 today. I was strapped into a headset in the ABC Radio Studio at Toowong, about to be interviewed live on Queensland Country Hour.

The gracious and discerning Robin McConchie, Queensland’s Executive Producer, ABC Rural, had invited me in to talk about my novel Dust.  She had read it, loved it and thought the setting in 1970s Central Queensland would interest her listeners.

She was in the pilot’s chair, twiddling nobs, when it became apparent to even a technoklutz like myself that our radio-controlled plane might be about to go belly up.

She smiled reassuringly then snapped out a mayday call to tech support.  My mike wasn’t working. And we were about to go live in – oh, a couple of minutes.

“Would you like me to try the other mike?” I offered. There was another one just beside me.  I moved chairs.  But it didn’t work either.

Robin must have nerves of steel. Nothing worse than a silent guest in a live interview. Dead air, the radio journalist’s nemesis. She sent off another mayday call into the ether then turned her attention to the weather. What a trooper.

A tech slithered in quietly with a microphone stand, cables, and a third mike, which he rapidly assembled and pointed in my general direction while the live weather report between Robin and a thoughtfully long-winded weather man ground to a close.

She segued seamlessly into her interview with me with such confidence that I could only assume my mike was now working.

I hope it was. You can check here just to make sure.

Comments
  1. Joanna Gaudry says:

    Terrifying. That’s one interview you’ll remember, Chris! Joanna :))

  2. lynnpriestley says:

    Oh, my goodness – I would never have guessed all that was going on in the background. You sounded so cool and controlled through the whole thing. I wanted it to go on longer. It ended far too soon. You sounded fabulous. Well done. X

    • chrisbongers says:

      Hey thanks Lynn! Where were you today that you caught it live?

      • lynnpriestley says:

        I was in Brisbane but I looked on the RN website last night to see if they had podcasts of previous shows – they did – so I kept visiting it today after 1230 – until it was posted and then listened away. I should have been a detective. I’m wasted as a nurse. I keep saying that!

  3. Josie Dietrich's breast blog says:

    Hilarious! The lead-in silent mike, not the interview. At least it got you focused on other things than speaking about Dust. Josie x.

  4. You had me nervous there Chris! I’m glad it was ‘only’ a technical hitch, as opposed to the interview itself being a disaster.

    I’m intensely jealous of how naturally and eloquently you speak when on the spot. I’m about to do my first radio interview on Wed (NOT live), and can only hope to sound as intelligent! I unfortunately still have my post-flu squeak, which may not go down well…

    • chrisbongers says:

      Kath, you’ll have the throaty gravel, listeners will be swooning over you. You’re so lucky, all you have to do is be your lovely self and you’ll be wonderful.

  5. Lynne Green says:

    I had to listen to the podcast, as I was mentoring a squad of Headstart-ers around the uni at radio time. I was thinking of you, though.

    And you sounded amazing. I bet you have a whole bunch of new fans.

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Wouldn’t that be great, if Dust found a following in its heartland?

Leave a Reply

