Magic “Dust” launch starring Bille Brown

Posted: June 23, 2009 in Dust, Events
Tags: , , , ,

P1010192The last time I was this excited was my wedding day. I had practiced my vows until word perfect, but at the altar, went blank. The minister took pity on me and prompted me gently, “I, Christine Mary Bongers…” I stared at him dumbly. “Who??”

So this time, I took notes and the words came tumbling out…Stories of Bille Brown, a legend in our home town of Biloela. Treading the boards of the Royal Shakespeare Company, acting opposite Billy Connelly, John Clease and Jamie Lee Curtis, starring as the Prime Minister in The Dish, opening his new play The School of Arts at QTC in July.

P1010198Bil was, and is, an inspiration to people like me. For kids from the bush, he opened up an endless world of possibility beyond the farm, the town, the obscure little corner of Queensland into which we had been born.

He allowed us all to dream big dreams and to dare to believe that if we worked hard enough, we could make them come true.

Eight months ago, when I signed with Random House Australia, I confided in a friend that if I could choose anyone in the world to launch my book, I would choose the most famous person that I never knew, growing up in Biloela.

P1010213And he came. Bille Brown launched Dust; proof positive that if you dare to dream, all things become possible.

Friends, family, fellow writers, and people who were simply happy to celebrate a new author and a new book being launched into the world, packed the deck at Riverbend Books. They bought every single copy of Dust in the shop, then turned round and put in their orders for more.

What a night. And if that wasn’t enough, I woke up to this, fellow writer Lynn Priestley’s beautiful post on the evening. I’m still pinching myself.
P1010195P1010218

Comments
  1. Karen says:

    Congratulations, Christine! What a wonderful night it must have been for you. Sounds like it was a complete and utter hit all around. I’m guessing it takes a while to come back to earth after an experience like that. I hope maybe I get to experience that same feeling some time in the future. Enjoy it!

  2. jnahrung says:

    Huzzah! So sorry I couldn’t make it!

  3. So beautifully said Chris. Congratulations, I know there will be many more highlights in the future. Bilo stock is superior to all and certainly worth exporting. The world will be your oyster! I hope you like seafood?

  4. Congrats Chris! … I’m so glad your Book Launch went so well. Look forward to reading your book.

  5. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Karen, look for it in all good book stores from 1 July!

  6. Bless you for the link. I honestly can’t put the book down and am nearly finished it. It’s taken me back to my childhood and made me laugh and cry and relive some of the most memorable days of my life. It’s rekindled things I had long forgotten -treasured memories buried beneath a layer of dust of my own making. I said in my post that this book is one of those that move about inside you. And it’s true. It’s with me even when I’m not reading it. It’s true magic when an author does that to a reader.

  7. chrisbongers says:

    Lynn, I am so pleased that Dust has struck an emotional chord with you, and that what resonated for me, also resonates for others. xx

  8. Congrats on the launch – wonderful 🙂

  9. Congrats Chris! It was such a great night, and I must say my eyes got a little misty during your speech…

    Dust is sitting on my bedside table waiting for me to hurry through my current book and open it’s glossy cover – I can’t wait!

  10. Judith says:

    I so wish I could have been there! Congratulations on your amazing book, and this lovely launch party.

  11. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks ladies, I swear it couldn’t have been any better if I’d made the whole thing up!

  12. Congrats again Chris. I wish I could have been there.

    This is a beautiful little story, so thanks for sharing. It’s all those secret dreams and wishes that keep us going isn’t it?

  13. You bet! Chris, excellent night. And now I’m settling down to read ‘Dust’. Also enjoyed talking to all and sundry, as one does on these occasions, and also finally meeting Lynn Priestley f2f.
    So when’s the next party, Chris?? 😉

  14. Wendy Agar says:

    Congratulations on Dust and the fab launch!!
    I was in Roma yesterday and was thrilled to accidently find a copy in the bookshop. Have read it already…loved it! I took great delight in recognising some of the characters – oh, so acurate! – all the places that you played and working out which brother was which! As a mother of only 3 boys I am much in awe of your mum – she always looked calm and serene to me – how did she do that??!
    Congrats again, and I look forward to following Dust’s success story.
    Wendy
    PS you were right – blogs can be quite addictive!!

Leave a Reply

