Dust (July 2009)

Posted: March 18, 2009 in Writing, YA Fiction
Tags: , , , , ,

dust-cover-97817416644612Twelve-year-old Celia Maria was named after saints and martyrs to give her something to live up to.

Over my dead body, she vows.

In the blinding heat of 1970s Queensland, she battles six brothers on her side of the fence, and the despised Kapernicky girls, lurking on the other side of the barbed wire.

Secrets, buried deep, surface decades later when Celia drags her own reluctant teenagers back home to dance on a grave and track down some ghosts.

Tough-minded but tender, Dust glitters with a rare and subtle wit, illuminating the shadows that hang over from childhood, and finding beauty in unexpected places.

Comments
  1. Josephine says:

    Congratulations Chris! Cover looks great. I’ll look out for it! xx

  2. mgbauer says:

    Sounds great Chris! You must be over the moon. Looking forward to reading it.

  3. What an enticing Blurb!
    And a gorgeous front cover!
    Can’t wait to read it.
    Congrats, Chris.

  4. This is fantastic!!!! Love the cover and looooove the blurb. I really want to read it. Can I get an advance copy? I may have to visit my bookstores and beg/borrow/or steal the copy. I’d even settle for a copy of the manuscript.

  5. chrisbongers says:

    B, I only have one! (and I can’t bear to part with it – I’d sleep with it if I wasn’t afraid of hurting it). Which reminds me – I’ve been feeling like a git for not stealing yours over coffee. Where can I buy my advance copy of Brown Skin Blue?

  6. thewordygecko says:

    Congratulations, Chris, what a lovely thing! It looks beautiful and very enticing, just ready to be plucked off the shelves.

  7. Wendy Orr says:

    congratulations, Chris, it looks wonderful.

  8. Mick Fanning says:

    Goodonya, Christine. Nice cover and looking forward to seeing the final result. My 13yo teen princess was desperate to get a book called “Paper Towns”, apparently written by some Yank genius of “young adult” (code for ‘teen’) fiction. I got it from the library and decided to have a read of what she was so keen to read. Half way down page two I came to a line about the young protagonist hurrying somewhere on her bike. The writer described her feet “pedalling circuitously”. I read no further. I’m confident you won’t be guilty of such a heinous literary crime.

  9. Lynne Green says:

    Great cover and blurb. Looks like a winner!!! I have several girl children in mind (my youngest, friend’s daughters) to be recipients of the book over the next year 🙂

  10. I’m enticed already by the blurb!
    Y’know, Chris, I reckon you and could’ve come from the same outback Qld town. You could swap the name signs on the edge of those two towns and you’d hardly tell the difference.
    Looking forward to the birth of ‘Dust’.

  11. chrisbongers says:

    Thank you ladies and gents for being kind enough to coo over the pram for my baby’s first public outing (as a first-time mummy, I’m grateful for having such a fine support network).

    And Mick, I hope you’ll find no heinous literary crimes in Dust. I try to avoid redundancies and always use adverbs sparingly, judiciously and effectively. 😉

  12. Jeni Mawter says:

    Absolutely exquisite. Congratulations! Is the girl on the front cover related to you?

  13. chrisbongers says:

    No Jeni, but oddly enough, I did look a bit like that in primary school! Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

  14. From a powerful new Australian voice? I have no doubt.

    Can’t wait to read it Chris. And you can be assured that your new mother’s eyes are not clouding your judgement, your baby is absolutely gorgeous. Enjoy her!

  15. Kirsten says:

    Congrats, Chris. It looks great, and I look forward to reading it!

  16. jim hallam says:

    Is that THE mick fanning?

  17. chrisbongers says:

    You’re hilarious Jimmy – I’d love to say yes, that was THE Mick Fanning. But it wasn’t the surfer, but the ABC cameraman. lol

  18. Gregor Carr says:

    check out p5 of etc in the Courier Mail (28/03) ?

  19. chrisbongers says:

    You’re quick off the mark Gregor. Yes, I was pleased to rate a mention (and a pic) in Courier Mail ETC liftout this morning. Well spotted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

