PS. Don’t buy me books for Xmas, that’s what the library’s for! xxx.

Don’t you just love teenagers and their Christmas wish lists?

I’m thinking of punishing mine by giving Breaking Dawn, the latest of the Stephanie Meyer vampire bestsellers, to her eleven-year-old sister. Letting Ms I-need-a-cooler-phone watch her baby sister curl up with that vampire hottie Edward Cullen will teach her not to taunt the writer in the family.

Given the choice though, Ms Eleven would prefer Inkdeath, the latest Cornelia Funke novel, in her Christmas stocking. For those who haven’t yet discovered the literary pleasures of a story where books come to life, get in before the rush. Inkheart, the movie, is coming out at the end of January.

Nine-year-old boys can be won over by the latest in Robert Muchamore’s Cherub series about child spies – “for official purposes these children do not exist.” Though it’s a bit of a worry when the sixteen-year-old footy players tell him they are reading them too!

For the eighteen-year-old who is moving into his first shared house, it just has to be the John Birmingham classic, He died with a Falafel in his hand.

Nana will love anything from the classy Kate “I don’t write crime” Atkinson (oh, yes you do!) And for men in your life who are more fascinated by fact than fiction, how about the magnificent hardcover The New York Times – The Complete Front Pages 1851-2008?

For me, just fill my stocking please with the sublime pleasures of Margo Lanagan’s Tender Morsels, Alison Goodman’s Two Pearls of Wisdom, and Peter Temple’s Truth, his sequel to The Broken Shore. That, and anything you’ve read, loved and care to recommend in the space below, is all I want for Christmas this year.  🙂

Comments
  1. Chris
    lots of things. the motivation for Dust is beautiful. a Feckin’ Huge Congratulations on fulfilling the promise and for having your novel published. I believe the Woolshed Press is a very special place to have it published too. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman is a wee smasher of a book well worth looking at and can I read you thesis please, like as soon as possible? It would be a huge favour and one I’d be very happy to return.
    oh and I like the site by the way. nice work.

    • chrisbongers says:

      I recognise that accent. You beauty, someone at long last wants to read my thesis! Anywhere, anytime, it’s yours, my man. Thanks for the tip and the feedback; you made my day:)

  2. belindajeffrey says:

    great blogging Bongers. I love your style

  3. Karen B says:

    Well hello from across the main road! Luv your website/blog and will pop in often cause I really enjoy reading blogs.
    I often read a heap of sewing related ones at the mo, but now look fwd to ‘kulcharing’ up here on your literay blog.
    Merry Xmas to all your family from all mine.

  4. I agree with Mr Toe Poker – Neil Gaiman’s ‘The Graveyard Book’ was my pick for this year. I liked it even better than Winton’s ‘Breath’ (is that sacriligeous to admit?)
    BTW I’d love to read your thesis too if it’s connected to Dust – I really want to read it when it comes out. 🙂

    • chrisbongers says:

      Wow, this is clearly attacting a classy following! I’ll have to check if I’m in the Australian Digital Thesis database and get back to you!

  5. Great call on Goodman and Lanagan. Two of my favourite books from this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

