Maaaate, it’s Drongoes!

Posted: February 1, 2013 in Children's fiction, Drongoes, Writing
Tags: , , ,

drongoes

It’s here, it’s here, my first little Aussie Mate. (And seriously, with a title like Drongoes, what else could it be?)

When the fabulous Dyan Blacklock at Scholastic first asked me if I’d like to write something for their Mates series for newly independent readers, my immediate reaction was hell, yeah - I’m a sheila from Biloela, I live for great Aussie yarns.

And I have to say that writing Drongoes was about as much fun as I’ve had at a keyboard. It took me back to my own early reading discoveries and the thrill of graduating to big kids’ books with proper stories and chapters and everything (just like younger readers will find in Drongoes ;))

Drongoes is out now, so look out for it in Scholastic Book Club in schools. Or if you’re really keen, you can order it by clicking here. :)

Love to hear what you think of it.

Can Jack beat arch-enemy Rocket Robson in this year’s cross-country? If only! A heart-warming story of mateship and drongoes, where the real winner isn’t always the first over the line.
Comments
  1. Karen Brooks says:

    Congratulations, Chris! It looks and sounds wonderful! And I adore the title!!! xxx

  2. Dimity Powell says:

    Bonza! Ripper! Bewdy! Can’t to have a bo peep Chris. Congratulations on the release.

Leave a Reply

