Man, oh man, I am so looking forward to putting my feet up this weekend.

(I even have it scheduled in: 7.30 pm this Saturday, 25 August, to help celebrate The Reading Hour as part of the National Year of Reading.)

Book Week is a huge month for authors – it’s our time to shine.

We drag ourselves away from the keyboard and out of the dacks of track, and into our silver writing sneakers to sashay our way through talks and workshops all over town.

The best bits are always the kids and their shiny bright ideas. Though I do have a soft spot for the lunch treats all those lovely librarians and teachers roll out for visiting authors (yes, Warrigal Road State School, I am talking about you. Homemade gyoza. Nom nom. Thank you, Mary and Maureen!)

My Book Week kicked off a couple of weeks ago, but it really hotted up this week and is showing no signs of easing till the end of the month.

Last Sunday, I had a fun day with my made-of-awesome Year-of-the-YA-novel students in at the Qld Writers Centre, followed by many fun days with the lovely girls at Moreton Bay College and the champion little writers in at Warrigal Road State School.

Next week, I’m looking forward to spending my days at All Hallows School, Calvary College’s Literature Day, and Mount Alvernia College. And of course, there’s also the wonderful Gus Gordon’s book launch to look forward to (Tuesday 28 August at 5pm at Riverbend Books for those little and big people who love picture books).

If you need me before 31 August, I’ll be hard to track down during the day. But at night, you need look no further than my couch. I’ll be assuming the position. Feet up. Reading a book.

Comments
  1. Ian Robertson says:

    Ok Chris, fess-up. Where did you get those ‘Major Tom’ sneakers? My wife would love a pair.
    ian

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Ian, your wife is a woman of taste. This will probably destroy my street cred forever…but I got my Frankie silver sneakers on sale at the podiatrist. See if you can keep that just between the two of us. ;)

  3. I hear you, Chris – and I’m running in parallel! x

  4. chrisbongers says:

    I know, Tania – now it’s bye, bye Book Week, and hello Literacy Week!

  5. Leanne Bridges says:

    ‘Made of Awesome’. I like that. Maybe not as much as I like those shoes you wear to class…But I like it.

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Yes, you are awesome. Just like my sneakers. :)

Leave a Reply

