I’m a big fan of assorted treats, and the latest anthology from Ford Street Publishing promises to win over the fussiest of readers.

Trust Me Too showcases a Who’s Who of Aussie kids literature with fifty-seven writers and illustrators contributing something bite-sized and delicious to each and every page.

There’s something to tempt all tastes: Sci Fi, fantasy, adventure, crime, humour, speculative fiction, historical, contemporary, sport, poetry and even Zombie Salad Eater comic strips!

I admit the first one I sampled I had already read (Killer Stories by Christine Bongers :)). But then, I hadn’t seen Peter Viska’s illustrations which added a whole new dimension to my original idea of writers cannibalising lives…

Spoilt for choice, I’ve been working my way through some favourites – Shaun Tan, James Roy, Lorraine Marwood, Steven Herrick, Leigh Hobbs,  Meredith Costain, Pat Flynn, Isobelle Carmody and am still chortling over Doug MacLeod‘s whimsical meditation on the trials and tribulations of the writing life, I am an Author.

Fortunately, I don’t need to gorge it all at one sitting. With 480-odd pages and the school holidays upon us, there’s time to savour every bite.

Unfortunately, I don’t share. Sorry. If you’d like your own copy, you’ll  have to click here or trot down to your local bookstore.

(FYI, Trust Me Too is aimed at 11-14 year-olds. But hey, we’re all still big kids at heart, right?)

Comments
  1. smileybella says:

    I have this in my hot little hands now, Chris! Gagging to get into it – reading treats is right!

  2. chrisbongers says:

    It’s just turned nasty cold up here in Briz, so it’s nice to have a big fat book to curl up with, isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

