Strike me pink, it’s TODAY

Posted: April 3, 2012 in Children's fiction, Reading, YA Fiction
Tags:

So, I’m at the beach playing Masters and Slaves with my kids. We’re having fun (as we like to remind ourselves, there’s no winners and losers in this family…..just losers).

But eventually I need a break from loserdom and check facebook … and nearly topple off my perch. Egad, it’s today!

The day that has every YA and children’s writer and illustrator in this country on tenderhooks, stabbing at the refresh button, waiting for the announcement of this year’s Shortlisted and Notable Books on the CBCA website.

Well, every YA and children’s writer and illustrator, that is, except me. Because after two nail-biting Aprils in a row, I don’t have a book in the running this year. And funnily enough, it’s a bit of a relief.

I can scour the list with wild abandon and leap with joy when I see favourite books pop up in the shortlists. (Yes, Michael Gerard Bauer, Bill Condon and Katherine Battersby, I’m talking about yours :)).

You can check out the full list here. Congratulations to all those who made it, and commiserations to those that didn’t – anyone who manages to get a book written and published in this country deserves a medal and a hug. You’re all winners in my book.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, it’s time to take the beagle stand-up-paddling.

If I don’t speak to you before, Happy Easter to you all.

Comments
  1. Thanks lovely :) I had no idea how stressful it would all be! But wonderful too. I feel humbled to have made a list with so many amazingly talented writers and illustrators (and friends). Happy hoppy Easter right back at you! x

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Kath, I just knew that little Squish of yours had it in him – here’s to more hoppy times ahead!

Leave a Reply

