Feels like I been everywhere, man – Biloela, Rockhampton, Bracken Ridge, Toowoomba, Newmarket, Springfield, Ascot, and Sunshine Coast (for an online festival)… I barely had time for a breather after Book Week and now Brisbane Writers Festival is upon us.

Word Play, the kick-ass program for kids and lovers of youth literature kicks off on Wednesday with a host of international, award-winning, and best-selling authors and illustrators including Kate Forsyth, Morris Gleitzman, John Danalis, Leigh Hobbs, Gabrielle Wang and Dave Hackett.

I’m there Wednesday and Thursday introducing Henry Hoey Hobson to Years 6-9, trying not to look like a naughty school girl with my scraped knees and band aids.

Seriously, I’ll be hobbling rather than hobnobbing, after not one, but two nana falls in the past week.

I tripped over my Birkencrocs on the way to school last week. Tore my tights and looked like a right scrag when I fronted up at St Margaret’s for my Book Week talks to Years Six and Seven.

Then I opened up the same knee a few days later, crash-tackling my runaway beagle after he rifled my visiting brother’s suitcase and stole his socks.

I came away with an egg on my forehead, bent glasses, a tear in my brand-new jeans and a sliced open knee.

The beagle, of course, got away with the socks.

Comments
  1. Elaine says:

    I hope this week is a better one for you Chris.

  2. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Elaine, but last week was heaps of fun too (apart from the scrapes!) Will just have to keep my unsightly knee out of sight til it heals. :)

  3. Oh, ouch! Never mind about the socks, they were bound to betray you anyway, they always do. (I hate socks and am moving to Port Macquarie so we can all live sockless, in thongs, from now on).

  4. chrisbongers says:

    Really, Rebecca? No more icy Armadale winters for you and yours? Your boys will love you for taking them to the beach and a sock-free future!

  5. Haha. The beagle always wins at your house :)

    Best wishes with your BWF talks. I know they’ll love you, band aids and all!

  6. chrisbongers says:

    Thanks Kathleen, it should be fun. I’ll let you know how I go. :)

  7. Angela Sunde says:

    Slow down, Chris! And have fun at Wordplay.
    Best Angela

  8. chrisbongers says:

    Wednesday Wordplay was fabulous, Angela. Bunch of great writers and really great, engaged kids who actually bought books! Looking forward to today. :)

  9. leemcgowan says:

    Chris Bongers! You make me laugh. Sorry to hear about the falls. It’s probably cause you’re dizzy from all the running around. The pictures of you on the bridge are brilliant too.

  10. chrisbongers says:

    Hey Lee, good to hear from you – it’s been too long! My BWF sessions are now behind me, so I’m hoping to catch a few other writers acts while they’re in town. And then, I’d like to catch up with you – soon. :)

Leave a Reply

